PDA

View Full Version : Any Magma Bullet Master Gurus?

bjordan
05-02-2017, 08:36 PM
Hello Gang.

I bought a used Bullet Master MK2 a few weeks ago. The seller has turned out to be a great guy, but he didn't use this machine much (he has a new MK8). I have an issue and he doesn't know how to solve it either.

The machine came a set of 8 230 grain RN .45 ACP molds. While learning the machine, I isolated that two molds next to each other were pouring off the back of the molds and not filling out the front cavities. I adjusted the clevis at the drive rod a couple of times and it it got pretty close to filling both cavities of the two "problem" molds, but not quite 100%. Today, I swapped all 8 molds out and put in a variety of molds, all within 75 gains of each other - largest (200 grain) to the smallest (125), and all in between. I have a Master Caster, hence several, single molds. Now I am getting no led in the front cavities of two molds and there are 2 molds between them. The two mold between the two that are not pouring correctly in the front cavities are perfect and filling out just fine.

I called Magma when I had the 8 .45 ACP molds installed and the guy said I needed to replace the entire wheel assembly. Now that the problem has migrated to a different set of molds with 2 molds between them pouring fine, I don't see how the wheel assembly is the problem.

The shear bolt is new.

Its almost like these two molds just need to be slid backward so the pour alignment is good to both cavities. The other 6 molds pour fine with good pour alignment. The caster has been upgraded to a digital timer/solenoid for the pour, PID controllers and 1000 watt heaters - it works great, except for the pout stream alignment. Its a ton of fun to run!!

Any ideas or thoughts? Tips or tricks?

Thanks for the help.

Tazza
05-02-2017, 10:35 PM