PDA

View Full Version : Lyman Case Prep Express Pros & Cons

SharuLady
03-31-2017, 10:53 AM
I have been looking at this model but am wondering :
1) If this unit has plastic gears (are these more likely to break or wear down faster?) or metal gears.
2) I have read some reviews that some of the tool posts have some wobble.
3) Does Lyman replace them if they become bad?
4) Is it possible to get metal gears to replace the plastic gears?
5) Is it possible to get a replacement motor if the original motor goes bad (from lyman or an outside source)?
I have sent an email to Lyman asking for info/answers in regard to my questions here but I have not received any reply from them.

So any info or opinions would be appreciated.
TYIA, SharuLady

captbligh
03-31-2017, 01:04 PM
I've been using one for a couple years and am very satisfied. It does have pretty noisy gears but see no signs of wear our wobble.
I do use RCBS primer brushes instead of the Lyman scraper. Same threads which is nice.

Sorry - haven't taken mine apart so no clue on type of gears.

OptimusPanda
03-31-2017, 01:17 PM
No trouble with mine. It is a bit noisy but it always was.

2011redrider
03-31-2017, 01:43 PM
Also had one for 3-4 yrs and no trouble with the wobble or plastic gears. Just saw it on Cabelas for 103.00 on sale, and if you do Active Junky another 15%.

SharuLady
03-31-2017, 05:09 PM
TY for all 3 of you gentlemen for your replies/comments. It is appreciated. ;)

mac60
03-31-2017, 06:01 PM
I've been using one for a couple years and am very satisfied. It does have pretty noisy gears but see no signs of wear our wobble.
I do use RCBS primer brushes instead of the Lyman scraper. Same threads which is nice.

Sorry - haven't taken mine apart so no clue on type of gears.