PDA

View Full Version : Newbie

arcticbreeze
07-07-2008, 07:58 PM
Hello everyone

I have been reading this board for a while and this is my first post. I have been reloading and shooting competitively for quite a few years now (USPSA and IDPA) but I have decided to give this casting thing a try. When I first started to consider this it was purely economical but since reading and reading and more reading I have a feeling it will become one more of my passionate and sometimes expensive hobbies. My better half thinks I need this like I need one more hole in my head, any way on to the question. So far I have on hand 50 lbs of lead ingots made from WW purchased from ebay (I did not want to invest the time into scrounging lead until I feel I will like this). I have ordered and received two Lee double cavity moulds (401-175-TC and 452-200-SWC), 1 #43 top punch, 1 #460 top punch, .452 sizing die, .401 sizing die and 1 Lyman 4500 Master Casting Kit . I have also ordered some white label BAC lube. I already have a turkey fryer so I will pick up a good size smelting pot.

Question one: Would you normally re-smelt ingots from an unknown source?

Question two: Does my list look like a pretty good starting point or have I left anything out?

arcticbreeze
07-07-2008, 08:01 PM
I just remembered another question.

The area my Lyman 4500 will be set up is attached to my home office and rarely goes below 78 degrees. With BAC do you think i should get a heater?

454PB
07-07-2008, 10:15 PM
Welcome to the forum!

Question one: I would not remelt the ingots. Be trusting and assume they are actually wheelweight alloy. There's little to be gained by re-smelting.....if it's a contaminated alloy, re-smelting won't change that. After you've cast some boolits, you may decide you need to add a percent or two of tin.