PDA

View Full Version : Prairie Doggin'?

petroid
03-11-2017, 07:08 PM
I've always wanted to go out West to shoot prairie dogs and I'm putting out feelers to see if anyone can guide me in the right direction. I have a 13 year old boy and a father in law who would love to go try and remove some pests.

I am on a tight budget so a public land, diy hunt would be what I'm looking for. I have a camper I can pull for accommodations. No problem boondocking in some national forest or grassland. I've heard plague has been hard on the dog towns but they are making a comeback. Open to just about any area, thinking SD or WY may be our best bet but I am a total noob. I'm sure you Westerners on the forum would have a much better idea on best places to go. Of course, I don't know any ranchers and can call chambers of commerce to try and get leads on private land, but if anyone knows public land that has good numbers, I'm all ears.

Blanket
03-11-2017, 08:41 PM
Wyoming, plenty of public land

M-Tecs
03-11-2017, 08:55 PM
Some of the state DNR's or Game & Fish will send you info on dog town locations.

petroid
03-11-2017, 10:03 PM
Wyoming, plenty of public land Little farther to drive, but Wyoming looks pretty good. I found an article that Thunder Basin is lifting the shooting ban and will be 100% open for PDs for one year.

petroid
03-11-2017, 10:04 PM
Some of the state DNR's or Game & Fish will send you info on dog town locations.

Yes, I plan on contacting some to try and get info.

castalott
03-11-2017, 10:28 PM
If I might suggest... lots of water, first aid kit, snake chaps/ tall boots, revolver loads with snake shot, very dependable vehicle, portable benches, easy lunches, friendly landowner nearby, clothes for any temperature,Ham License and gear, and stay off Indian Land. What am I forgetting?

( I have never gone- this is what my doggin buddies talk about.... Make sure someone knows where you are and checks on you...)

baogongmeo
03-11-2017, 10:41 PM
Petroid, PM me.