PDA

View Full Version : Digital scale drift

pull the trigger
02-23-2017, 07:06 AM
I have a cheap Hornady digital scale that is iffy. I will be weighing powder and sometimes before I drop it on there it will read -.4 grains. So I rezero it and go but I don't really trust it and end up pulling out the old 505. Is it just because its cheap or are they all like this. Thanks

6bg6ga
02-23-2017, 07:41 AM
I never owned a digital scale but I am wondering if you are using the protective plastic shield that comes with some if not all of the better scales. Most of these domes are designed so that they will go over the powder pan and they have a hole in the top and powder is insered thru the hole. Soulds like it may be getting a draft.

XDROB
02-23-2017, 07:44 AM
I have been using their scale for a few years and haven't had any problems
I read that one thing you should do is wait 15 mins to let it warm up before actually using it.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

6bg6ga
02-23-2017, 07:49 AM
One would think the electronics would stabilize before 15 minutes.

hermans
02-23-2017, 07:51 AM
I have two digital scales, one is an RCBS and the other a cheaper model somewhere from China ordered on eBay.
Both need about 20 minutes for the electronics to warm up and stabilize, after that they both are fine and measures accurately for long periods.
The problem with the real "cheap" scales are that they are only battery operated and have "auto shut off" which prevents the electronics to warm up properly.

imashooter2
02-23-2017, 07:59 AM
What do your check weights say? I have a PACT that I leave plugged in. It holds zero for weeks. Probably more, but I recalibrate it before every loading session and have never let it sit longer.

psweigle
02-23-2017, 08:09 AM
I have a couple digital scales that I use as a way to measure bullets and cases. They are +\- .2 of a grain. I use a quality balance scale for powder

6bg6ga
02-23-2017, 08:13 AM
Can you be more specific? Brand of the scales?