PDA

View Full Version : First try at Paper Patching....

Echale3
02-17-2017, 02:33 PM
OK, I decided to take a swipe at paper patching, since I've tried so much other stuff. I figure it might be interesting, especially since I've been shooting mainly cast bullets for 20+ years now.

I sized down some of my cast 435 grain 45-70 slugs, figured out the length I needed to go just a hair shy of 2 full wraps, cut out some patches, made a bullet board, and used spit to moisten the patches for rolling purposes.

I'm still working on trying to keep the amount of spit and the paper stretch consistent, but I managed to get 20 halfway decent patched rounds done. It only took me 30 patches, LOL!

Anyway, I'll have to size them down a bit to fit properly, but they should work well enough for me to have a little fun with. Here they are, sitting upside down drying...

johnson1942
02-17-2017, 03:01 PM
when you see the results of accuracy you will want to keep doing it. 435 is is good weight for a 1/18 twist 45/70. most shooters want heavier bullets but 450 to 485 grains can do great at 500 to 1000 yards. im sure 435 will give you good accuracy also. i wouldnt work so hard with the spit. water works just fine. keep us posted as to the results. make sure to use a good wad between the powder and the base of the bullet. and wipe the bore between rounds.

Hardcast416taylor
02-18-2017, 01:38 PM
I also started with the `spit patch` method of wrapping, I soon tired of the dry tongue and mouth and went to using the damp sponge method to wet the patches. I get a chuckle out of peoples comments about who taught me this method? With a straight face I reply` Buffalo Bill taught me back in the buffalo hunting days when I was a lad`!Robert

country gent
02-18-2017, 02:07 PM