PDA

View Full Version : Lookong for suggestions

Thumbcocker
02-11-2017, 08:39 PM
Tonight I was loading .357's and noticed a couple of cases looked like they had less powder than they ought to. Press was set up for 14.5 of 296. Checked the cases and one had 13.4 and another had 12. something. Traced the problem to deterrent coating build up on the powder bar. A few shots of break cleaner and all was well. Now I am left with a bunch of rounds that may not have full powder charges in them. I am sure there are no over charges but a few might be a much as a couple of grains light. Am I risking a SEE situation? My gut says just shoot them in Rugers and keep an ear open for light sounding rounds and be ready to push out a stuck boolit.

Suggestions welcome.

r
ugers

shoot-n-lead
02-11-2017, 08:44 PM
The danger with 296 is not a stuck bullet...the risk is detonation, with a low charge...and that would probably mean a catastrophic failure of the firearm.

I have no experience with shooting loads below the minimum charge, so I have no advice to offer other than, if in doubt...pull'em out.

My standard practice when loading 110/296 is to check one every five rounds...that way I will not have more than 5rds in question if find a discrepancy.

shooting on a shoestring
02-11-2017, 09:01 PM
First, Kudos for paying attention and catching the problem before it got to the range.
Second, the safest thing to do would be to pull the boolits, reload.

If it were me, I'd do that and reclaim the powder, remelt repour the boolits.

Youre looking at some rounds with roughly 20% to light for w296 to ignite reliably. That's a serious problem with W296. If it were a flake powder, I'd shoot them. But W296, I vote pull them down.

If you do decide to shoot them, do it with a camera rolling please. Could be entertaining.

Thumbcocker
02-11-2017, 10:07 PM