PDA

View Full Version : Vickerman die or How to live and prosper with Periferal Nuropathy

omgb
02-08-2017, 07:08 PM
So, I have PN, pretty bad. Numbness, limited movement and poor grip are the major impediments aside from knife like pain on an on and off basis. The pain fades and returns but the other **** I mentioned only gets worse with time.

So, you can appreciate that I love finding things that work around those limitations and the Vickerman die is one of those. I bought it last week off of a gentleman on this site. I've never used one before. My take is that most folks use them to get better concentricity while seating bullets. That seems like a smart idea. I have no doubt the die will do just that. For me however, it's the port in the side that captures all of my love and attention. The Vickerman die has a cut away side that lets you drop the bullet into the die. Then as the ram brings the shell up, it has a sleeve that rides up and a nose cup that limits that ride. At the top of it's rise, the case continues up and over the base of the bullet. When the ram is lowered you have a properly seated bullet that then goes on to the crimping die. Slicker than snot. I can hold a bunch of bullets in my left hand and plop them like peanuts into the die making bullet feeding a snap. Think about it, if you use a bullet feeder die that feeds from a tube you still have to pick up and drop the bullets into the tube. This way you just drop them into the slot. Since it's above the press you don't have to struggle with keeping your fingers out of the way or trying to hold the bullet perpendicular to the case as the rising ram blocks your view. Mine is in 30 cal. I have to have one in .22 for the .223. These things are great! Oh, an on the Hornady LNL, the bullet seating die mounts on the second to the last station leaving loads of finger room to manipulate things.[smilie=w:

Czech_too
02-08-2017, 07:26 PM