PDA

View Full Version : Newbie equipment mistakes.

sawinredneck
02-03-2017, 04:16 AM
To preface this, I am by no means an expert at any of this! I'm simply sharing some of my stories in hopes others don't make the same mistakes I did. I'm also hoping others can, and will add nuggets of their wisdom.
Rule #1, don't start with a progressive press!
Back in the early '90's I was newly wed, desperately broke and thought I'd shoot a lot more than I got to. I was at the gun shows all the time, but knew NOTHING about reloading. I was in a local shop and they had the Pro 1000's on sale, around $100 OTD, the clerk made it seem everything I needed was in the box, the box seemed to confirm this, how hard could it be? After talking to some friends parents, that did reload, and pulling everything out of the box, I was intimidated! Three or four years later I sold it off, still new in the box. There was so much additional gear to buy and things to go wrong, I never even tried messing with it.
#2 start slow and learn the process.
After selling the Pro 1000 I managed to save some OT money back and laungished for months over what brand to buy. I settled on a Redding Boss press, Redding #2 scale, a Lee perfect powder measure (still a great buy), a bullet puller, Lyman tumbler and a set of RCBS dies. Buy now I had a 10mm, ammo was scarce and very expensive at the timeI learned how and why everything worked and felt comfortable with the process, a big improvement.
#3, don't be scared of used.
There are still deals out there, watch yard sales, estate sales, Craigslist, here, even evilbay! I picked up a Redding master powder measure for $40 shipped, it needed a new reservoir, but throws almost as good as my PPM and my sons son should be able to hand it down!
A lot of times people just want the **** gone, other times they think it's worth it's weight in gold. Like the guy that has the box for my master powder measure on evilbay.
#4, buy manuals, more manuals then get some more!