PDA

View Full Version : Bi Pod selection advice plz.

PB234
01-21-2017, 02:47 PM
I am new to bi pods and ask for advice. Mostly shooting from a bench and attaching to a sling stud rather than a rail. The Harris products look good to my uneducated eye which would benefit from others experiences here. Which one would you all suggest selecting? I would rather buy a good product one time than end up buying improvements/replacement to an unsatisfactory product bought to save a few dollars. Buy quality and cry one time at the purchase price or buy junk and cry every time you use it has been my experience. Thanks for sharing ideas and knowledge.

Rick Hodges
01-21-2017, 02:57 PM
I have a Harris bi-pod and another clone. (versi-pod???) both are for sitting position and a bit high for a bench. I don't like either for my purposes when hunting. They are heavy, noisy and not as adaptable nor steady as my home made cross sticks. I would much rather use sand bags and or adjustable rifle rests for bench work.

PB234
01-21-2017, 03:03 PM
Thanks Rick, found an older thread where folks recommend the HBRMS Harris Bipod, but maybe I should stay with an adjustable rest and save the $,

tazman
01-21-2017, 03:55 PM
I am using 6-9 inch bipod from the bench and love it. I use bag under the butt. I only have the bipods on target and varmint rifles. My hunting rifles stay unencumbered.

Ithaca Gunner
01-21-2017, 04:23 PM
I use a Harris S model, (swivel model) on my varminters for groundhogs and love it for that purpose. I've had non S models and didn't like them.

M-Tecs
01-21-2017, 05:56 PM
For solely bench shooting a good adjustable front rest will server you best. If you are shooting off of multiple surfaces the Harris swivel notch leg bipods are awesome. All my prairie dog, coyote and tactical type rifles have them.

The Versa-pod is a clone of Parker Hale. I don't care for them.

http://precisionrifleblog.com/2015/01/05/bipod/

rda72927
01-21-2017, 06:04 PM