PDA

View Full Version : Kings James Version

Boaz
01-19-2017, 10:38 PM
I will adhere to as newer version of GOD's word . Will no longer post by KJV . Understanding , clarity is paramount . Without clarity there is confusion . Bear with me . It is hard . Thank you . Change is hard .

jmort
01-19-2017, 10:45 PM
Everyone picks the translation they like best
Amplified for me
So what is your choice?

Bzcraig
01-19-2017, 10:51 PM
How about the NKJ?

WRideout
01-19-2017, 10:54 PM
I think they all have their place, at times. I studied a little Greek, but can't say I am really able to read the original New Testament. It is interesting to pick apart words in the original writing, though.

Wayne

TXGunNut
01-19-2017, 10:56 PM
Not sure I understand. I prefer to read the KJV's antiquated language possibly because it forces me to slow down and think about what the scripture is saying. Reading aloud is another matter as I'd probably have trouble reading a grocery list coherently. I guess like any public speaking opportunity it takes practice.

dverna
01-19-2017, 10:59 PM
I am using the NIV Quest.

Don Verna

Ickisrulz
01-19-2017, 11:01 PM
I like the RSV, NRSV and ESV. They are all pretty close to one another. They are good readable word-for-word translations.

The Amplified is very useful in that it provides a word-for-word translation with "explanation" built in to the text.

The best translation is one that can be read and understood easily. When the books of the Bible were originally written they were in the everyday language of the people. The King Jame Version seems to create an unnecessary distance between today's audience and the Bible. While poetic, it is very formal and archaic English. It was also translated using newer manuscripts than the modern translations.

I'd bet for most casual readers, they'd get the most from reading a Bible specially translated for children (e.g., New International Reader's Version).

Preacher Jim
01-19-2017, 11:04 PM