PDA

View Full Version : Caliper recommendation or use a case gauge or both

bbogue1
01-16-2017, 11:04 AM
I am a newbie in the market for a caliper. I really like the SE780DC dial caliper (Amazon $18.99) In the reviews I've read it receives high marks and in a few comparisons it fared as well as a Mitatoyo. The finish is better than most in the same price range. The repeatability is excellent. There is no battery to replace and it works well under 40 degrees. I am not sure the bezel will rotate to calibrate should there be an error. I reload 38 Special and 9mm What is your opinion.

Can a caliper be replaced by a case gauge? Maybe I do not need a caliper at all.

Der Gebirgsjager
01-16-2017, 11:31 AM
Really good question--almost worthy of a "sticky". There are dozens of calipers on the market, and most will serve the purposes of casters/reloaders. You usually get what you pay for, but even the less expensive calipers now days are good. You are correct that the ability to calibrate the caliper is a desirable feature. I'm not familiar with the one you've described, and although I've got some more expensive ones for machine work, when sitting at the reloading bench I usually reach for my made-in-China $19.95 special. You haven't described the operations you intend to use it for, and depending on what they are you might be able to get away without one. For example, if it is for determining case length, then certainly a case length gauge will tell you if the case is too long, and a trim die will let you trim to length. You may find a micrometer, 0-1" , better for some measuring purposes like bullet diameters. But for most measuring I use a dial caliper that can be recalibrated, and in about 20 years of use I've only had to recalibrate it once.

Electric88
01-16-2017, 11:38 AM