PDA

View Full Version : Resizing cast from .358 to .356 without a press, just the die?

bbogue1
01-15-2017, 10:05 AM
I am a newbie. I am still learning and have not bought any equipment yet. I was thinking about the Lee Loader for 38 Special and 9mm. My budget is small for equipment and I don't plan to load more than 500 rounds of each caliber each year. I am intrigued by the smelting and casting process, though I have no plans to jump into that arena quite yet. Thinking about the steps in the process using a Lee loader If I bought cast bullets for the 38 at .358 is it possible to resize to .356? Can that be done by hand using a Lee resizing die without the press?

6bg6ga
01-15-2017, 10:09 AM
Just about anything can be done. Having said this one must consider what is reasonable. In reloading one must be willing to do things correctly. Buy or borrow a press and the bullets will come out uniform and sized correctly.

Note.. I use .358 for 38/357 and I use .357 for 9mm. I size and lube them with a Star sizer lubricator.

ioon44
01-15-2017, 10:25 AM
A lot of shooters use .358" bullets in there 9 mm's, for me .356" is too small for my 9"s.

Lakehouse2012
01-15-2017, 10:25 AM
I say No to sizing without a press. I was resizing last night bullets that dropped at 360 and need to get them to 357 i was STANDING on my press arm in some cases because i didn't hold the mold tight enough when casting.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

Bent Ramrod
01-15-2017, 11:17 AM
Lee used to make a little kit that had a stick of lube, a pan-lubing tray, and a pound through sizer. If they don't make them any more, you might be able to find one of these, of the right diameter, on the auction sites or at a gun show. It ought to size a .358" boolit to .356".

dsh1106
01-15-2017, 11:17 AM
Find yourself a 310 Sizing tool, these were made to be used with the tong tool.

The 310 shop will make any size you want.

Scott

longbow
01-15-2017, 12:02 PM