PDA

View Full Version : We're all nuts!

TexasGrunt
01-07-2017, 08:13 PM
Spent about an hour today sorting through a bucket of wheel weights I was given.

My jaw is sore and I chipped a tooth on a iron weight :-D

Seriously, this takes time. I used a set of end nippers for the stuff I couldn't identify. I got a good bucket as I'm not finding a lot of either zinc or iron. One thing I did notice is how hard wheel weights are. I've been using nothing but pure lead for a few years, casting fishing gear, and wheel weights are just a bit harder than pure lead.

rmark
01-07-2017, 09:01 PM
Um, yes, we are all nuts. My wife wonders why we have 1500 lbs of lead in the backyard.

slim1836
01-07-2017, 09:29 PM
Um, yes, we are all nuts. My wife wonders why we have 1500 lbs of lead in the backyard.

Mine knows I'm nuts because I am.

Slim

Bookworm
01-07-2017, 09:44 PM
I built shelving from leftover 2x12 in the barn, to separately store the various ingots - sheet, pipe, CWW, SWW, range lead, etc. I was thrilled about it when I showed Mrs Bookworm.

She just nodded, smiled, and walked away, past the buckets of yet-to-be-rendered CWW and other scrap.

I'm certain I glimpsed her rolling her eyes as she turned to leave.....

samari46
01-07-2017, 10:43 PM
My wife could care less as to the amount of lead, wheel weights or linotype I have stashed in the garage. That and the chunks of bar solder stashed in ammo crates on shelving. Probably cuss me out after I'm gone cause she'll have to get rid of. However while I'm still above ground I'm gonna enjoy the heck out of it all. Frank

Budzilla 19
01-08-2017, 12:05 AM