PDA

View Full Version : Tolorance for 12 gauge shotgun slug

Bob in St. Louis
01-03-2017, 05:11 PM
Hey all,
First off.... I'm new at this, so please have some mercy on me for what might be a dumb question in your eyes.
I've casted several dozen Lee slugs, the one ounce size. I had some issues with the first batch and damaged the mold in the process. One of the problems was that the mold wouldn't close fully. Obviously, this caused the slugs to be a bit fat.
I'm willing to get my mic out and check them all, but I'm curious what the tolerance is.
Thank you!
Bob

Bob in St. Louis
01-03-2017, 09:47 PM
Home from work now, and grabbed the micrometer...
I measured a few from a batch that I was happy with, and they're in the .69 range. I grabbed some of the ugly ones. The ones towards the end where the mold wouldn't close completely and the casting seam was more noticeable, and they're in the .72 range.
At what point do I worry that I'm shoving the wrong caliber down the pipe?
How big is too big?
By the way, I've got a smooth bore, no choke.

rancher1913
01-03-2017, 09:51 PM
push one down the bore, if you have to use much force they are to big.

uncle dino
01-03-2017, 10:00 PM
Hi bob. I don't have a lot of experience with that slug. But I believe that lee slug is supposed to drop at about .680 and be shot in a wad. Depending on your barrel it may be too large to be shot with a wad and too small to be shot bare. But the .72 may work bare...try pushing some through the barrel. Might be a good place to start..d

Bob in St. Louis
01-03-2017, 10:32 PM
Best I can tell with the mic, the end of the barrel is .730.
And I do believe Dino is correct, they're supposed to "fit through" in a wad.
Funny thing is, I've never been able to shove a slug/wad through, even with a bit of "umph" behind the stick (using published load data).

longbow
01-03-2017, 11:33 PM