PDA

View Full Version : confusing 9mm load data?

parrothead600
12-31-2016, 05:38 PM
I am still a novice when it comes to reloading, so I like to double-check everything & not "blindly" follow instructions without understanding what & why I am being told to do it. I am looking at Lyman's Cast Bullet Handbook 4th Edition (pg 247). For those without the book, it refers to 9mm Luger.
The boolit that I am using is the Lee #356-102-1R with Unique powder. This manual states a starting load of 5.7gr., which seems like quite a bit of charge. There is not very much space left in this case to seat the boolit. If you look at their data for a 90gr lyman boolit, the starting load is 5.0gr of Unique. If you look on the next page, the starting loads range from 3.2 - 4.4gr of Unique(120 -147gr boolits).
I did load 5 cartridges w/ 5.7gr. They cycled fine w/ no evidence of too much pressure. Then I loaded 20 cartridges w/ 5.0gr. They also cycled fine.
Is it going to be a problem with going below the suggested starting grains? Does the suggested starting grains of 5.7 seem excessive? Also, the maximum load grains listed for this powder/boolit is 6.3gr:shock:, which I'm not sure if it could be done without compressing the powder. Sorry to be long-winded; I just want to understand the data & above all,BE SAFE.
Thanks in advance...

buckwheatpaul
12-31-2016, 06:04 PM
The problem with too low, below min. charge, is the chance of a stuck bullet in the barrel. I consult several manuals when working up loads and start low and work up....congrats on admitting double-checking everthing and not blindly following instructions.....as you grow you will get a good feel for what works best but never never never give up checking your work.....Paul

KenH
12-31-2016, 06:23 PM