PDA

View Full Version : paper patching questions

tom barthel
06-20-2008, 08:50 PM
I've been reading more and more about this subject. I'm considering trying it. I have two LEE molds. One a C309-170F. The other a C309-200R. Can I just wrap the bullet bore riding area in wet paper and use my LEE push through sizer? Will the absence if a gas check be a problem? After drying, if the paper stays on I plan on rolling the bullet and paper wrap in LLA. I'll run it through the sizer again after that. Will the work be worth the effort?
Thanks.
Tom

beemer
06-20-2008, 09:27 PM
I'm a little new to this too but have been having a lot of fun with it. You didn't mention what caliber you intend to use. I have used with and without gas checks, without seems to work just as well. Try to patch the boolit from the base to just in front of the grooves. I have sized some patched boolits that were checked and the check cut the paper.The patched boolit can be sized but roll in LLA before sizing. I use a lee 180 for the 303 sized to .3085 patched to .314 and lubed with LLA in a #4 and a 91/30. It is a combination of boolit size paper thickness to match barrel groove size.

beemer

docone31
06-20-2008, 09:36 PM
I think I see what you are trying to do.
First off, what caliber are you wrapping for? What does it slug?
I paper patch for my .303 British. I use the Lee 303B mold which casts at .3125 @ 185gns. I use wheel weight water dropped.
I wrapped my first patched ones with a gas check. They worked although some cut through the patch. I size to .308 to get .3135 wrapped. I have not sized the .303 paper patched. I consider the final size adequate.
Now, that is the .303.
For my .30cals., I plan on sizing to .308, wrapping, and final sizing to .311.