PDA

View Full Version : Ideal lube sizer or Lee sizing dies. Total noob

Dadswickedammo
12-01-2016, 12:34 AM
Hey fellas new to casting. Got a hold of some molds a but load of lead.
I have the opportunity to buy an old ideal lube sizer with about six or so new dies three tubes lube and some gas checks $90.00
Or
Was thinking the lee press mount dies.
Going to be casting 45 lc , 303 British, 300AAC, and maybe a few others.
Whats your thoughts?
Oh yeah I live in Kaliforinastan and ammo is about to get real pricy.
Have reloaded for years and stocked up on supplys would be nice to cast my own quality boolets.
Thanx

DougGuy
12-01-2016, 12:39 AM
I use both RCBS lube-a-matic2 and a lee sizer. They both do different things. You would need a luber unless you want to pan or tumble lube, and the lee sizer makes quick work out of resizing after boolits have sat for a while and some grow as they age harden, and if you get boolits from someone and you want to make sure they are all uniform the lee comes in handy so yeah, as cheap as the lee is? I would get both.

Soundguy
12-01-2016, 12:50 AM
I can't find a cheap lube sizer, so as mentioned I pan or tumble lube and use the lee sizers, they work perfectly, set gas checks, and are cheap.

JonB_in_Glencoe
12-01-2016, 01:10 AM
If you are talking about the old Ideal #1 lube-sizer, like the ones in the photo below. The are not very robust and can't take much abuse. I use them to size 22 cal boolits. If you are sizing large boolits, especially if they are a hard alloy, I'd highly recommend a stronger press

http://i640.photobucket.com/albums/uu127/JonB_in_Glencoe/bothSizers1_zps55d1816f.jpg (http://s640.photobucket.com/user/JonB_in_Glencoe/media/bothSizers1_zps55d1816f.jpg.html)

1bluehorse
12-01-2016, 01:55 PM
I thought if you shot a cast lead boolit anywhere in Kalifornication you'd go to prison....[smilie=1: