PDA

View Full Version : 1859 Percussion Sharps

Jim Baker
06-17-2008, 03:33 PM
I have recently purchased a Pedersoli 1859 Percussion Sharps & have lots of questions so first, is there anyone out there who is familiar with this rifle and has done some shooting (paper, brass or loose powder) with it? A couple of questions:
1. The sliding sleeve gas check design. Is this essentially the same as in the original 1859 sharps or modified?
2. Any good books or articles to recommend on original Sharps rifle designs eg their gas seals, weight of 52 cal round, grains of powder in linen cartridges, barrel twists, etc.
3. How do they shoot in terms of accuracy? I'm new to the sport but my 54 Cal Hawken seems to be more accurate (I was using brass reusable cartridge and 50 grains fff in Sharps- it did better w/ 3F than 2F).
4. Is this the best forum for black powder muzzleloader (Hawken,1860 Colt 44 & Percussion Sharps) Will appreciate suggestions. Am putting down deposit 74 Shiloh Sharps but that will be two years off so I will concentrate on the muzzle stuffers for now.
Anyway, thanks for listening (reading?), will appreciate information and contacts for future questions.

montana_charlie
06-17-2008, 05:39 PM
The forum at this location http://shilohrifle.com/forums/viewforum.php?f=8&sid=7c7dac9fb3025ff5292123f5798eb8f1
is devoted to shooting the type of Sharps you have.

You may get all that you need by just searching and reading...but if you join the forum you may not want to advertise the fact that yours is a Pedersoli rifle.

I have not spent time on that forum, so I don't know if they are as 'brand loyal' as the bunch on the forums devoted to discussions about the 1874 model.

CM

Baron von Trollwhack
06-17-2008, 06:10 PM
Montana_Charlie nailed it. BvT

sharps54
06-18-2008, 01:17 PM