PDA

View Full Version : Dangerous game, High BHN Help!!!!!!!!

Honeybadger
11-23-2016, 05:06 PM
Hey guys, I'm new here. And I am also new to casting bullets, so please forgive in advance the stupid questions that I am undoubtedly going to ask. I'm looking to learn how to make an alloy that has a high BHN, 22-25 would be good. I am trying to mimic the SUPER HARD CAST bullets that are used by the small Ammo companies such as Buffalo Bore, Garrett, etc, etc, etc. Is it possible to achieve that BHN for extreme penetration, and not have the bullet be brittle?? Can anyone help me out with some recipes that would suit my needs. By the way, I have around 50 or so lbs of Wheel Weights, and 50 lbs of pure Linotype at my disposal right now.......I know I'll need other stuff as well......I just wanted you to know what I've already got to work with.

DougGuy
11-23-2016, 05:14 PM
What caliber, what gun, and what game? I could be mistaken but Lyman #2 water dropped or COWW water dropped will come close to BHN22.

Btw, welcome to the forum, and Happy Thanksgiving!

Oklahoma Rebel
11-23-2016, 05:23 PM
how could both lyman no 2 and ww harden to the same bhn?

Honeybadger
11-23-2016, 05:38 PM
Ruger Super Redhawk..........44 Magnum...........and the bullets I would use this alloy for would be with the intention of getting maximum penetration from a bullet such as an SSK.........I would use on Deer occasionally, given certain circumstances...........but would be used otherwise for large hogs or bear. Thanks for the welcome, and Happy Thanksgiving to you as well!

Honeybadger
11-23-2016, 05:41 PM
Also, forgive my ignorance..........but what is COWW water dropped.........I assume it involves wheel weights??

Ken in Iowa
11-23-2016, 07:11 PM
Also, forgive my ignorance..........but what is COWW water dropped.........I assume it involves wheel weights??

Yes, clip on wheel weight metal.