PDA

View Full Version : Thermal sight recommendations

osteodoc08
11-22-2016, 09:10 PM
Looking for a thermal sight and have looked at the Armasight Zeus 336 and the FLIR RS32 line.

Has as anyone used these? Recommendations?

Usage will be yote and hog duty. Especially yote duty in the field behind my house. I'd be able to bait them and tag them from my porch with my 300 BLK. All shots under 200 yards.

ole 5 hole group
11-22-2016, 11:02 PM
I have no experience with thermal - I know a couple guys who do and when I talked to them they stated you get what you pay for - meaning they went inexpensive the 1st time around and were really disappointed. I think their thermal scopes used today cost them around $5K a couple years ago.

Just from looking at the specs I would think between those two thermal scopes the Zeus is probably better.

If you go with a silencer & thermal - you're going 1st class and I'm sure you will enjoy "ruling the night".

6mm win lee
11-23-2016, 11:36 AM
You want to find a TWS with the largest sensor you can afford to buy. The military sights come in three sizes, light, medium, and heavy. Commercial models seem to run in a similiar fashion. The lights typically have a smaller sensor than the mediums and heavies. The mediums and heavies have identical sensors and bodies with the front lens being the only difference. The PAS-13C light has a 320x240 detector where the medium and heavy models have a 640x480 detector.

I think a medium sized platform, commercial or otherwise, would be suitable for two hundred and under. Whatever you purchase read the specs from the manufacturer regarding man sized identification out to x yards or meters. Then see what the warranty is and how long is it good. It's your money. Spend it wisely.