PDA

View Full Version : Recasting birdshot into slugs

Bob in St. Louis
11-18-2016, 11:27 AM
So... I've been perusing Youtube, so I'm now an expert. Right? ;)
I'm actually a noob, but I thought this might be helpful to somebody.

Seems there's an underground full of fellas taking regular lead birdshot, removing the shot from the hull, melting/casting it back into slugs, and reinstalling the ordinance back into the hull.
Seems easy enough, right? And the best part, is you can have a box of slugs for, what, $5.50, instead of $30?

So I made myself a crude fixture to peel the crimp from the hull, thereby releasing the shot.
My first fixture was too crude and needed to be more precise as it tends to spiral the cut.

Since "pics or it didn't happen", here's what I've got.
I chose the 1 1/8 oz birdshot loads, as it turns out that some of the lead just magically "goes away" when recasting. There's not a 1:1 ratio when recasting. Using loads that are 1 1/8 and the final ordinance being one ounce, it seems you can earn about one slug per 16(ish) rounds. So it's almost "profitable", so to speak.

http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k60/BobinStLouis/Weapons/Reloading/DSC_0019_zpsuc9gw68e.jpg (http://s85.photobucket.com/user/BobinStLouis/media/Weapons/Reloading/DSC_0019_zpsuc9gw68e.jpg.html)

I bought a Lee one ounce slug mold ("mould"?) and a Lee 20 pound melting pot/crucible.
I'll pour the shot into the pot, let it melt, and pour that into the slug mold.
There's dozens of YouTube videos on this. I've probably seen them all by now.

Here's one of the videos that I found most inspiring.
:arrow: https://youtu.be/IBkMRhB6RqM

This was the first batch. As it turns out, I'm not happy with the results.
More on that later...

http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k60/BobinStLouis/Weapons/Reloading/DSC_0020_zpsp3iz8ig7.jpg (http://s85.photobucket.com/user/BobinStLouis/media/Weapons/Reloading/DSC_0020_zpsp3iz8ig7.jpg.html)