PDA

View Full Version : PC/hitek/lube which process best for someone just starting out?

anothernewb
11-15-2016, 03:50 PM
Not entirely sure where to put this one since it's cross posting 2 systems, but here goes.

Newb to casting/coating here. Well, not a total newb to actual casting, I did help a buddy recently and I was cranking out usable, if not perfect, boolits after a short learning curve. Been loading for a few years now though.

But to the gist of things. Through a series of fortunate events - I now have a steady source of lead - so I'm gonna roll my own from scratch.

From a newb perspective - which lube/coat process would the learned ones here recommend. Start out with traditional wax or tumble lube, or just jump straight to coating. If so - then which process is easier to learn and get decent results?

Source material is going to be varying mix of WW and range scrap.
Intended purpose is blasting/paper punching/general use pistol ammo. 45 acp, 38/357, and 9mm.
Will start just with 45 acp 200 SWC casting/coating at first.

I have no gear for any form of coating/lubing yet. so nothing to lose either way. Budget is not a concern at this time. it'll cost what it'll cost, to get started.

toallmy
11-15-2016, 04:21 PM
I am afraid you will end up trying all of them anyway , so don't limit yourself . You can start out with a lee sizing die , it comes with a bottle of tumble lube to get you started , but the sizing die can be used on powder coated boolits . A member here sells powder coating at a good price and can recommend a powder to start with it goes a long way . Pan lube or dip lube are options but more time consuming . Then comes a lube sizing . 20 bucks gets you a lee sizing die then you can start shooting your own . With a little research and some questions you will be on your way .

Yodogsandman
11-15-2016, 05:02 PM
Sorry, double post

Yodogsandman
11-15-2016, 05:05 PM