PDA

View Full Version : 10mm and KKM barrels with hardcast

wk5h
10-19-2016, 11:53 AM
I've been reloading for my 10mm for several years now, only using plated, and am having great results and tons of fun.

I got a box of 200gn TC bullets the other day, and when trying to seat them at normal 1.250-1.260" lengths, the shoulder of the bullet scrapes the inside of the throat on my KKM barrel. In order to get the bullet to seat correctly, I have to seat the bullet to an OAL of 1.216", which sounds WAY deep to me.
A bit of googling and some talking to some guys who shoot cast, pretty much all have come to the conclusion that the throat of my barrel is too narrow for the .4015 bullets I'm trying to use, and one of the options would be to ream the throat.
My question is, this is my only barrel currently, and I have several loads worked for plated bullets that perform extremely well. If I ream out the only barrel I have for 1-2 bullets, it seems like a daft thing to do when primarily I'll be shooting my other jacketed loads, and only shooting my cast loads for occasional hunts.

Would a better thing to do, be to buy a 2nd barrel, ream the throat to accommodate the cast loads, and use that barrel only for cast loads?

FYI, this is what it looks like after I forcefully fully seat a round with 1.260" COAL into the chamber, and pull it back out. Lots of scraping on the shoulder of the bullet

Dan Cash
10-19-2016, 01:03 PM
Seat the bullet in the case so that it is not engaged by the chamber and reduce powder charge to accommodate the deeper seating. TC bullets don't usually do well if seated with any bullet body extending beyond the case mouth.

wk5h
10-19-2016, 02:11 PM
Dan, here's the pic of it loaded to the shoulder, which again, puts the COAL to 1.216". What's your opinion?

DougGuy
10-19-2016, 02:17 PM
That barrel needs throating, here is what needs to be done to it, this is either a LW or KKM 10mm after throating: