PDA

View Full Version : Advice casting for 375h&h

pundip
10-18-2016, 01:50 AM
I am new to casting and am thinking about casting for my 375 h&h. I am not looking for light loads. I am looking for as close a normal load as possible. I understand that the upper limit of anything cast is around 2000 fps. I have managed to find a mold that is quite heavy for calibre at 385 grains where the heaviest for this calibre is typically 300 gr that comes out around 2500 FPS http://www.castbulletengineering.com.au/bullet-moulds/rifle/375-calibre/378-385pb-single-cavity
Even if I limit to 2000 fps I think there will be plenty of punch. This will be for paper punching only. My main motivation is cost. I want to get cheap bullets for practice without worrying about cost
I have used commercial cast hi-tek coated bullets in different calibres and found the results to be very poor. They have all been light for calibre or normal weight and loaded with trail boss except a 458 lott loaded to around 2000fps. I have flared the mouths so the bullets are not shaved and they have been **** in every single case.
I have not slugged any bores as the guns in question and modern manufacture and the 375 is a Winchester model 70 and I expect the bore to be close to 375. I plan to cast the bullets, coat and bake with something like hi-tek, size and shoot and see how they group.
The stability calculator http://www.bergerbullets.com/twist-rate-calculator/ show that the bullet should be stable even at 1000 fps. I plan to start off with trail boss. I would like some advice on the details such as what sizing die should I buy and what alloy to use and what are my chances of getting an accurate bullet. I want to avoid sinking all this money and time and finding a 6 inch group at 100 meters. Any advice would be welcome.

runfiverun
10-18-2016, 12:04 PM
it runs jacketed speeds in the 375 Winchester.
but it's not 300grs.

anyway here is how this works.
you put in work and effort and you get results.