PDA

View Full Version : 9 mm load data

truck
10-09-2016, 04:52 PM
I'm getting cross eyed looking for something that probably doesn't exist. I'm looking for specific proven data where I don't have to second guess anything. Just a normal everyday cartridge like you could buy off the shelf at the gun shop, but made with these ingredients.

Titegroup powder
cast powder coated Lee TL 356 124 2R boolits
any old case will do
CCI 500 small pistol primers

I've been searching this site and loading manuals and can't get an exact match, there's always some variable, weight or shape of boolit, seating depth or my powder not listed.
I'm new to reloading and I want to keep it safe.
Does anyone know where I can find what I'm looking for? Is anyone loading this particular combination and can tell me how much powder and COL? Just a plinking load is what I'm looking for at the moment just to get me started loading.

NavyVet1959
10-09-2016, 05:50 PM
The OAL might end up depending upon your particular firearm.

I would start out with the SAAMI max OAL of 1.169" to see if that would chamber while still leaving enough of the base of the bullet in the brass to be securely held.

The Hodgdon site for a 124 gr bullet uses a 1.150" OAL though. It also has 3.6gr to 4.1gr of Titegroup for a velocity from 957 to 1057 fps and a pressure of 27,700 to 32,700 psi.

If you are just poking holes in paper, start with the lowest powder charge and SAAMI max OAL and as long as your gun cycles, you are good to go and your pressure will even be less than they state since you are seating longer.

Yodogsandman
10-09-2016, 05:55 PM
truck, welcome to the site!