PDA

View Full Version : Remington 700 Long Range 30-06---Opinions?

tazman
10-05-2016, 04:55 PM
I am thinking of getting a Remington 700 Long Range in 30-06. Does anyone have experience with this rifle?

CraigOK
10-05-2016, 06:54 PM
Ive got a Rem 700 aac-sd 308 with the same stock, same trigger, 20" heavy barrel. It shoots very well and the recoil pad soaks up quite a bit. I think the 06 would serve you well

Outpost75
10-05-2016, 09:36 PM
A 26" barrel .30-'06 for around $700 MSRP is a good deal. I have no experience with the current generation Remington 700s, and don't care for the push-feed, non-controlled round feed, or the Remington safety and trigger mechanism, which has lots of well documented safety issues, but for that price, you can buy the rifle and fix its ills.

As for myself, my .30-'06 is a pre-1964 Winchester Model 70 with clip-slotted receiver and Lyman peep sight. But I am a dinosaur.

tazman
10-05-2016, 10:46 PM
I used to have a couple of 30-06 rifles set up with peep sights. With my eyes as they are working now, that isn't an option any more unless I am shooting at very large targets.
My rifles wear scopes these days.

A 26" barrel .30-'06 for around $700 MSRP is a good deal. I have no experience with the current generation Remington 700s, and don't care for the push-feed, non-controlled round feed, or the Remington safety and trigger mechanism, which has lots of well documented safety issues, but for that price, you can buy the rifle and fix its ills.

I have gotten quotes from a couple of local shops. The delivered price is around $650 out the door. I think I can work with the price. I just need to know if they shoot as well as they should.

Scharfschuetze
10-05-2016, 11:04 PM