PDA

View Full Version : Flint Lock Pistol Kits yes or no or?

JesterGrin_1
06-04-2008, 09:54 PM
I am new to this and wanted to build a Flint Lock Pistol and was looking at some kits like through Dixie. But I thought I would ask here first as I would like to have a quality product when done. So any help would very much be appreciated.

Thank You. :)

northmn
06-06-2008, 10:18 AM
There are other sources for kits depending upon your skill level. One good one is Track of the Wolf, another is Log Cabin (look under Log Cabin Muzzleloaders) and finally Muzzle Loaders Builders Supply. You can compare prices fo production kits, buy what you need to build your own or get precarved custom kits. A flintlock needs a good lock to give proper enjoyment.

Northmn

jackley
06-06-2008, 10:30 AM
+++++1 on the good lock for a flintlock.

Jerrry

JesterGrin_1
06-06-2008, 10:31 AM
But who would have the best lock with the precarved custom kits? Thank You for the info. :)

KCSO
06-06-2008, 11:32 AM
A good lock will run $80-$100 so if the whole kit is $79.95 you should pass. Track has several parts sets that will make up into a suitable flint pistol. The BECKY lock is especially nice for a using and target pistol, or you might try the waterproof NOCK. If you are serious about target shotinng be sure you get a 1 -20 or so twist. Most of the cheap kits have barrels with the same twist as the rifles and that doesn't work as well with light charges in a pistol.

northmn
06-07-2008, 05:15 PM