PDA

View Full Version : Win94 Chamber Cast Analysis Help - What are my options?

Dimner
09-22-2016, 10:59 AM
Howdy everyone.

I have posted a few times before about my troubles getting my Teddy Roosevelt Commemorative Winchester 94 shooting with any kind of accuracy. I would get occasional decent 4 shot groups but when I did 10 shot groups, i would get many fliers. Well I got fed up and did a pound chamber casting because all the normal tips and tricks would do very little for me. All I want is 1" at 50 yards. And this rifle isn't doing that.

So here are the results of the cast. I need help interpreting it (I have never done a chamber cast before) and I need help figuring out what to do next.

Note: Measurements made with my cheap digital calipers. They do a good job at showing the same reading over and over, but I am going to measure this casting again this afternoon with a friends starrett micrometer.

other views of the cast:

So where do I go next? Obviously I need a really fat boolit. .312. But if I go for a .312 mold, what are the chances that it is not going to fit in my chamber... or cycle from the magazine tube to the chamber.

http://noebulletmolds.com/NV/images/N.O.E._Bullet_Moulds_312-160-FN_(GC)_159_gr_Sketch.Jpg

Or is there a remedy that can be done by a gunsmith? The chamber cast showing the .310 grooves really explains why I am getting absolutely dismal performance from Jacketed bullets of all sizes.

Der Gebirgsjager
09-22-2016, 11:47 AM