PDA

View Full Version : New Cast Bullet reloading questions

aaholland
09-20-2016, 04:17 PM
Ok I just started casting for my 300 blackout and I am new to reloading also.

I am using a 230 grain .311 NOE mold.http://i67.tinypic.com/k1t5cm.jpg

I powder coated and sized back to .311 using a lee push through sizer.

I made some testing rounds with just the bullet and case. I used a 30 carbine lyman m die and seated to 2 inchs total legnth. I have a coal tool but not sure how to use it yet.

When first trying to put the sample round in my AAC handi rifle the round was very hard to put in. I could not even get it all the way in. I tried it in my ar15 with same results. I had to slam down the stock of the gun to get the round out. The bullet actually was stuck in the barrel and the brass came out. I used a cleaning rod and knocked the bullet back out.

So next i tried to size to .309 and only added some flare to the case using the lee powder through expanding die with same length and these both go in the handi rifle and AR15. But in the AR it was still a bit hard to extract but it came out and I didnt see any marks on the bullet.

What should I do? Load up somecat .309? Change the length? What else?

Yodogsandman
09-20-2016, 05:06 PM
Powder coating increased the size of your boolit nose, probably making it too large to enter the chamber and bore without seating it deeply. This will impose on your powder space and maybe cause higher pressures.

I'd tumble lube the bare boolits with Bens Liquid Lube and try it again.

OS OK
09-20-2016, 05:42 PM
What powder coat process did you use, what powder brand also. I use a high quality clear gloss and tap the boolit on the tray before standing on the cook sheet, this way I don't have thick coating interfering at the nose profile.
I looked at the NOE chart but can't tell which profile/weight you have...need more specifics and pictures help too.