PDA

View Full Version : What Can I do to Raise P.O.I.?

2ndAmendmentNut
09-20-2016, 12:40 PM
I have been reloading for 8 years now and am a bit embarrassed that I am just now asking this question. Is there anything I can do to raise the point of impact on my lever guns?

Up until recently all my load development has been with handguns and scoped bolt action rifles. With handguns I know heavy and slow boolits tend to impact higher than light and fast ones. With scoped rifles I never cared where impact was, because as soon as I found a load that grouped well I could simply adjust my scope.

Lately, I have been having fun with a number of lever actions with traditional buckhorn and semi-buckhorn style sights. For some reason the way my eyes line up the sights (I use a 6 o'clock hold on the bulls-eye) I always seem to hit low. 357mag carbine (Browning 92 with 22" barrel) at 50yards, and 45-70 rifle (Browning 1886 with 26" barrel) at 100yards. My 357 load is a 147gr cast HP with 14.0gr of 2400. The front sight is already very short, and the rear sight is already as high as it can go. The loads just barely hit the bottom of a clay pigeon at 50yards My 45-70 load is a 405gr cast HB with 39.0gr of RX7. Again very short front sight and fully elevated rear sight, loads impact the bottom portion of a 6" target at 100yards.

Ideally I would like to get both rifles to impact at least 4" higher at their respective ranges. Both my loads are fairly middle of the road; both in boolit weight and velocity. Again my experience with handguns at 25yards tells me that slower and heavier will impact higher, but is the same true for rifles? My thoughts are a lighter faster boolit should drop less and therefore impact higher, but I would like to turn to the experience of the forum before purchasing different molds or burning more powder.

Any and all input will be appreciated.

northmn
09-20-2016, 12:57 PM