PDA

View Full Version : First Time "smelting" Success + a possible screw up

PerpetualStudent
09-14-2016, 03:39 PM
So I've been bugging you guys for the last few 9 months with questions, and I'd been lurking for a few months before that. Read "From Ingot to Target", watched some of your videos and started amassing my stuff. Asked a roofer and a plumber for lead scrap and no dice but then I asked a tire shop for wheel wieghts and I got 1/3 of a 5 gallon bucket.

Took me 3 hours to sort it but I got it all sorted (so I thought- see the question below).

Today I took my 1$ hotplate (1100 watts), my 4$ rusted cast iron frying pan, my 1$ mini muffin molds, and my free Lee Dipper I lucked into and got to work. I put on my "working with lead" clothes long sleeved shirt and jeans that I keep in the garage. 176600

Leather gloves and eye protection (already had on hand)

I melted in the frying pan, stirred, and removed all the carp (see the attached thumbnail, oddly won't let me insert more inline photos) Continuing in next post

PerpetualStudent
09-14-2016, 03:43 PM
I used wood chips to "flux" the mix. 3 times.

Lit them on fire, mixed the ashes in as best I could and then skimmed everything off the top to get a mirror finish.

I poured from the frying pan directly. The sloshing was a little more than I expected but easy enough to handle. I waited longer than I thought was necessary and the lead ingots dropped right off.

It took me 3 batches to "smelt" it all. I marked each batch of ingots so I know which smelt they're from

PerpetualStudent
09-14-2016, 03:49 PM
Now for the possible screw up.