PDA

View Full Version : New to 6 cav molds

Hondo 60
09-10-2016, 06:52 AM
Hey Folks,

I've been casting for about 5 years, so I have a good handle on how to cast with 1 or 2 cav molds.
But I shoot about 10-12k per year.

I decided to get smart & buy a couple of 6 cav molds.
Seems like a different world!

I have a Lee 10lb bottom pour furnace.
It works GREAT for the 2 cav molds.
But not so much with the 6ers.

After pouring 10 times, my bullets still were all wrinkled (too cold).
I went back to the 2cav & 3 pours later I was getting perfectly formed bullets or should I say boolits.

I need to add tin, right?
But how much? where can I find a cheap source?

By the way, I'm using straight wheel weights.
If what I've read is correct, this should be giving me a BHN of around 9, is that correct?

I can't imagine this isn't a sticky, but I couldn't find it.

Thanks.

Gofaaast
09-10-2016, 07:13 AM
Your alloy temperature needs to be higher I think.

claude
09-10-2016, 07:21 AM
After pouring 10 times, my bullets still were all wrinkled (too cold).

As you said, it sounds like a heat issue, six holers require longer to heat up if you aren't preheating on a hotplate. I know this because I don't preheat on a hotplate and I don't start getting good results until several pours. But after 10 cycles you should be close.

Is there any oil in the six holer? Oil will do that, wrinkles, but it should be gone by that many cycles.

You may be casting at to low a temp for the six holer as well.

All just semi educated guesses, I'm sure the more experienced casters will have good solid info to add, patience..........

Mitch
09-10-2016, 07:28 AM