PDA

View Full Version : Need help picking muzzleloader

glockky
09-09-2016, 09:16 PM
I have a newer inline Thompson center endeavor muzzleloader but really want to pick up a good side lock traditional style muzzleloader.

I have very little knowledge about these rifles. I was hoping to get some recommendations on which one to buy.

I like the looks of a hawken but I'm not sure if there's something better. I have read a lot of people replace the barrel with a green mountain barrel.

thanks in advance

mooman76
09-09-2016, 09:53 PM
Are you wanting a flintlock or a percussion? Big difference there and how much you wanting to spend is another factor. With a percussion you can get by with a cheaper gun but a cheap flintlock can be disappointing, especially to a newcomer. Takes a little more to learn on what to do when you have problems getting it to fire. Most guns these days are built pretty good compared to years back when the first started making repos. Hawken's are pretty good and hard to beat. Mostly after that it's just according to what style you want and allot of them are styled after the Hawken. You also might want to consider a good used one for starting out.

rodwha
09-09-2016, 10:33 PM
Another question is the use. Hunting or targets? If hunting would you still hunt or stalk? Caliber preferences?

ShooterAZ
09-09-2016, 11:13 PM
Lyman Great Plains or Deerstalker.

Omnivore
09-09-2016, 11:21 PM
For a percussion hunting rifle, it's hard to beat the deal you get with the Lyman Trade Rifle. For a fairly good representation of a Hawken without spending a whole lot, the Lyman Great Plains Rifle has had a good reputation for a long time.