PDA

View Full Version : webley 1892 loads

ehsa
09-08-2016, 10:38 AM
i have owned a 1892 wilkinson webley for 10 years without ever shooting it and would like to give it a go. richard milner of wilkinson says the revolver was made between 1893 & 1900. this gun perfectly chambers factory and some of me 45 colt reloads which i know would be too high pressure. so i happen to have 500 230 grain lead bullets sized .452 which i bought years ago for one of my 45 colts or smith & wesson revolvers. any i have limited knowledge concerning these webley 1892 richard milner says the gun was orginally chambered for the .455 black powder round and does not recommend even colt cowboy loads and some folks say stay away from the fiocchi .455 factory rounds as well. so im thinking i am set up for 45 colt reloading and i have black powder available so mabey a start load of 28 grains of 3f with this 230 grain flat base bullet. i know the orignial bullet was about 260 grain hollow base but i dont have any of those and no 455 cases but since the 45 cases fit wouldnt that shorten bullet jump anyway. i know that there is a rcbs hollow base mold available but i am not set up for casting. no photos of the gun at this time as i am not able to do so. appreciate any help or thoughts.john

Wayne Smith
09-08-2016, 11:09 AM
Is the cylinder bored straight through or does it have a chamber edge?
Remember that a BP cartridge has to be full. If you use 45 Colt cases you have to fill the case to the bottom of the boolit - and thus may overpower the gun. If you use a filler you have to add that weight to the weight of the boolit to know what you are loading. The 455 case had significantly less capacity than the 45 Colt so you probably ought to think about cutting back your cases to the appropriate length. This will make them obvious as well, so you don't accidently load one of your full charge 45 Colt rounds in it.

Outpost75
09-08-2016, 11:13 AM