PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for holding a .44 sbh

chutestrate
09-06-2016, 11:09 AM
I picked up a Ruger sbh in .44. It came with it's factory grips, and hogue rubber. I left the rubber grips on it, and found that I'm consistently shooting high. I let the recoil roll the pistol back into my hand which make it manageable, but I'm thinking it also is contributing to my high shooting.

I did manage to put a few shots in the general area of where I wanted them to be on the target. I'm new to this type of grip and could use some pointers if anyone has a few.

Currently I grip the sbh with the vertical part of the grip nestled in my palm. When it recoils it slides through and I end up with the barrel pointed upwards. Am I possibly ignoring a small but important part of gripping it? I'm getting the high shots from a rest and two hand hold. I do know I flinch as well, but I don't think that puts me high, just off to either side.

454PB
09-06-2016, 12:15 PM
That "flinch" can cause all kinds of problems, and usually the shot is low or high. You can actually see what is happening by loading two or three rounds, give the cylinder a random spin, and observe where the sights go when you flinch. Flinch is all mental and takes a lot of shooting practice to overcome.

chutestrate
09-06-2016, 12:30 PM
Probably right. Darn, have to shoot more.

Der Gebirgsjager
09-06-2016, 12:48 PM