PDA

View Full Version : my first experience with a 44/40 revolver

johnson1942
08-31-2016, 11:55 PM
got a remington 1875 uberti 44/40 recently. 7 and 1/2 inch barrel. got a box of blackhills 44/40 cowboy loads recently on a trip with 200 grain lead bullets in the cases. the first thing i noticed is the cases dont look bottlenecked. i checked the box, 44/40 it said. they fit the gun when loaded very well and when fired, then they looked bottle necked. is this normal with all store bought 44/40 ammunition? as the remington uberti it is a copy of a military army gun of those days, this gun shoots in perfect alignment but 6 inches high at 20 yards. im not going to mess with that, just get used to it. i also put in a aftermarket spring and now it cocks as smooth as butter. before the spring it cocked very stiff. im new to the 44/40 and have reloaded a lot of 45 long colt . because of the bottle neck is it hard to reload? what is the best set of dies to make reloading perfect every round? i have three other uberti colt open tops and they all shot to a perfect point of aim. they are not military type guns. it would seem that it would take a really tall front sight to make the remington shoot to point of aim? anything anybody can tell me about the 44/40 and maybe even this remington would be interesting and helpful. thanks beforehand.

Drm50
09-01-2016, 12:18 AM
I had several Win 92s & Marlin 94s and Colts in 44/40. I have RCBS dies that I bought in 60s.
Never had any trouble loading 44/40 and 99% of my loading was with cast bullets. If you have
loaded 45Colt you will have no problem. I also have no experience with replicas, but I have found
with old originals they usually do better with Factory Duplication loads and cast bullets. The only
exception to this was a Colt DA, made in early 1900s, it liked Jacketed bullets. I have 2 shell
holders for 44/40, either Lyman or RCBS is finicky and very tight on some of the older brass.

Multigunner
09-01-2016, 01:14 AM