PDA

View Full Version : Truncated Cone in Semi-Auto?

Stephen2
05-30-2008, 01:41 AM
I want to start casting. Does anyone know if a truncated cone bullet will work properly in a semi-auto?

Specifically i have a Firestar. Thanks.

I am a newb. Duh. A truncated cone (http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/showproduct?saleitemid=340779&t=11082005) is the same as a semi-wadcutter, correct? I wanted to punch some clean holes. My buddy said that it wont work as i need a round nose to guide its way into the chamber.

EDK
05-30-2008, 04:03 AM
If your Firestar is a 9 mm, the LYMAN 356402 (or it's LEE equivalent) should work well. I used that boolit in a 9 mm BROWNING HP a long time ago...wish I still had that 14 shooter!

A truncuated cone is not the same as a semi-wadcutter. Someone makes a 9 mm version of the famous HENSLEY & GIBBS 68 45 ACP boolit, which has a shoulder like the semi wadcutter and makes nice sharp holes in the target....and still feeds well.

I'd stay with the truncuated cone for better feeding unless your pistol has been modified to feed something other than round nose ammo. Getting ammo that functions in a semi auto can sometimes require some tinkering.

:Fire::cbpour::redneck:

Poygan
05-30-2008, 07:15 AM
The Lyman 356402 is almost a pointed boolit and should feed well. I have a Lee TC in 45 acp that will feed in some 45s (Llama and Sig P220) but wouldn't feed well in a Kimber. I have sized down a 155 grain semi wadcutter and it fed well in a Browning High Power. Give the 356402 a try - the experimenting is the fun part of the process.

NSP64
05-30-2008, 09:05 AM
Stephen2, Welcome to the addiction:drinks:
If you ask on the swappin/sellin section of the site, Some of the nice people who go there might mail you a few samples to try in you gun before you commit to buying a mold. I would, but I don't cast for 9mm.

trickyasafox
05-30-2008, 09:41 AM
welcome! Pm'd you.

billyb
05-30-2008, 11:06 AM