PDA

View Full Version : Cap and Ball Revolver Dimensions

Gtek
08-21-2016, 10:37 AM
I have been collecting these revolvers for several years and have had an understanding of lock up and turned cylinders on the SA's for several decades, Blackhawks were in the house I grew up in and they have multiplied in mine. Now I am getting really serious about making some smoke with these things. There are many videos and articles on how to load, how to shoot, etc. but none I have found on dimension issues of cylinder to bore. I understand the shaving the lead ring and all, but the .001"-.002" over in my head causes distress when I mic, pin, slug and feeler gauge these things out. The .006" on gap, shimming/bushing arbor, fitting barrel is work but capable. The question I cannot get out of my head is how much accuracy and velocity (performance) is lost pushing a .446"-.447" ball into a .452"-.465" grooved barrel. I have a pair of matching 2nd Gen NMA's and a pair of consecutive Pietta 58's that if I used a reamer and took cylinders to .4531" followed by a light polish to <.454" and using a .457" ball, this would land me in the 1-2 over groove thing. OCD? Waste of time, shoot and enjoy as is? Or after correcting all front end dimensions and slicking up timing, correct cylinder dimensions and have me some sweet revolvers to play with? Comments?
Thanks,
Lar---

Outpost75
08-21-2016, 11:12 AM
Fit-up of accurate cap & ball revolver should be same as for cartridge. Cylinder throat should not be smaller than barrel groove diameter, and should ideally be not more than about 0.003" over unless 11 degree forcing cone is cut. Back in the day when we fit Colt Python barrels to S&W revolvers for PPC work forcing cone was recut to 6 degrees to provide easy transition of .360" .38 Special wadcutters from huge S&W cylinder throats into the tight .354 Colt barrels and that worked fine.