PDA

View Full Version : Bullets get stuck in my Lyman 4500, even with lube

Oliver
08-20-2016, 05:03 PM
I just purchased a Lyman 4500 Sizer/luber, intending to size cast bullets for my 45-70. I also bought a box of 400-grain .459 cast bullets, and a .458 die, and some Lyman moly lube. I'm a noob at sizing/lubing....

The bullet, even when pre-greased, stick in the sizing die. Hard. I pretty much have to pound it out, the regular bullet-remover mechanism will not generate enough force. I checked the bullets with a micrometer, they are just about .459-.460. I've tried axle grease, some lanolin based lube, even WD-40. The bullets stay stuck in the die.

Clearly I do no understand something. I've never lubed/sized before. Technically, I haven't yet, either. ;-) Lube is flowing into the die, and anyway the bullets are pre-greased by hand. I've read and re-read the Lyman directions and I cannot figure out what I am doing wrong. The various videos on youtube all suggest the bullet more or less pops right out. Hah!

Clue me in, please. Otherwise I'll have to shoot store-bought ammon with (gasp!) smokeless powder. ;-)

mold maker
08-20-2016, 06:11 PM
I'd do a really close examination of the sizing die. I've never had a problem with boolits sticking in the die. Sounds like a real rough inner surface in the die.

rancher1913
08-21-2016, 02:46 PM
the only time I have ever had a problem with boolits sticking in the sizer was when I tried to "size" to much at once but it sounds like that is not the case for you, you might "mike" the sizer die and see if it might have got mismarked.

Maven
08-21-2016, 02:53 PM
As mold maker said, a rough inner surface of the die is one possibility; an undersized die is another

Walter Laich
08-21-2016, 03:01 PM
most of the dies will have their diameter on the top of the outer housing. That might show if the wrong die ended up in the package.
I've resized my 45-70 bullets all day in my 4500, very easy. You have a problem somewhere.

keep us posted