PDA

View Full Version : Gold color/film on pure lead melt

fingers284
08-12-2016, 11:51 AM
I have smelted a few hundred lbs of co ww over the years and the melt ,after a dross skim or two and a flux or two is always the shiny silver color that I " think" is normal. I recently lucked onto a roll of "used" roofing lead, about 150 lbs or so. The lead had a considerable amount of old dry paint and other "foreign" materials stuck to it. This melt, after skimming and a few "fluxes" with copious amounts of sawdust always has a gold colored tinge to the surface, I can skim it off but it almost immediately returns, my question is " is this normal for pure lead or often seen and nothing to be concerned about.

This is my first time smelting what I think is pure lead and have another 300 lbs or so that I assume is pure from a dismantled x-ray booth.

tradbear55
08-12-2016, 12:04 PM
Yes, gold color and/or blues and purples. I get it on pure lead melts when casting for my muzzleloader. It's normal.

comprschrg
08-12-2016, 12:20 PM
The same thing happened to me, exept I had some blueish purple color also. Then yellow dust, powder was stuck on the sides of the pot. No matter how much fluxing with every known flux, and heat range. My "pure lead" was from the left overs from a x-ray room. It had sheet rock paper glued to it.
Lower melt temprature helped. Just above melting. I thought it was calcium or stontium from a maintenance free car battery. When I added just a bit of tin, it seemed to fix everything. I never really felt I figured to out.

badbob454
08-12-2016, 12:21 PM
yes ....... good clean lead has a lot of color lots of blues and purples as well as gold/// ps leave the car batterys to the professionals lots of hazardous metals in there .. only the posts are safe

OS OK
08-12-2016, 01:17 PM
I've seen it on a few occasions, who knows? Could be some other metals that get in the mix as these flashing manufacturers make the sheets up and reclaim lead using...we don't know what?