PDA

View Full Version : Crps

carbine86
07-27-2016, 08:53 AM
I have been reloading for only 4 years and casting for 3 and I'm afraid I may lose this great hobby that has become a huge part of my daily life. I have had 4 shoulder surgeries (with 1 maybe 2 left) and this last o e I had done in January has caused me to have crps(chronic regional pain syndrome). The meds and spinal injections had gotten everything under control and I thought it was going to be manageable. Then the sideffects started. Short term memory loss, sudden weight gain, extreme confusion, and waking up every morning feeling like I have the worst hangover ever. They have messed with the dosage up and down and every time they do this the pain gets worse and so do the side effects. I'm glad that I'm not in the intolerable pain but I can't keep living with these side effects and I fear when I come off the meds the pain will be uncontrollable and I don't be able to enjoy shooting or casting/reloading.

Ugh..........

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

kbstenberg
07-27-2016, 09:01 AM
Carbine86 I am sorry for your medical problems. I can feel your pain (in reality) I'm recovering from rotor cup surgery. I do not have the quantity of pain you endure. But the loss of being able to do what my hobbies need is very depressing. God speed to a time when you can return to your shooting and loading. Kevin

RED BEAR
07-27-2016, 09:18 AM
sorry to hear of your health problems hope it gets better soon.

MrWolf
07-27-2016, 09:30 AM
Sorry to hear about the pain. I have an extremely bad back/neck so I can literally feel you pain. Before you go to the constant pain meds, try traditional acupuncture. When I first got hurt, the drugs, rehab, etc. did not do anything. Tried the acupuncture based on a recommendation back when it was not covered by insurance. She got me walking better the first day. Six months later I was able to do my own rehab program. She bought me probably twenty years. Good luck.

carbine86