PDA

View Full Version : good deal or not? Linotype $.65 per#

gtim88
05-25-2008, 01:23 AM
A couple months ago, I was offered 2k lbs of linotype @ $.75 per #. I'm new to casting, I've loved it until I cleaned lead from two guns for over two hours today. Now I Know that I have enough wheel weights to last me a lifetime at this rate. Will linotype make my bullets harder if mixed properly with wheel weights? Will this reduce the effects of leading barrels? Would anyone like to go in halves as I'll never use 2K lbs. I'm not sure of shipping cost, or how I would ship it. Any info would be helpful. I live in east central MS. I'm almost positive it is still available.

Thanks for any insights or opinions.

Tim

OeldeWolf
05-25-2008, 03:57 AM
Which state of the Union are you residing in?

And yes, lino can be used to improve the performance of lead alloys.

The good people here can probably help you get a handle on the leading, but will need a bit more information.

randyrat
05-25-2008, 06:37 AM
http://www.lasc.us/CastBulletNotes.htm
Read until your eyes bleed and you will be enlightened. I don't have enough clean paper to explain leading. Read about heat treating and water dropping also.
For the lynotype, know what your buying before you lay your money down for quanities like that. I had a friend gun dealer bought some Lynotype once, he was selling it for a $1.50. I picked it up and scratched it with my nail and dropped it on the floor, it went thud ( it should have went ding or ring). He could have ruined his reputation if he would have sold much of it.

dubber123
05-25-2008, 08:18 AM
Unless you are firing them very fast from a rifle, your leading is most likely the result of A. Too small a diameter boolit, or B. Poor or insufficent lube, in that order, rather than from using wheelweights.

I have shot plain base wheelweights to over 1,600 fps with no leading, and I'm sure others on here have gone faster. What gun/caliber/boolit/load are you using?