PDA

View Full Version : Zinc?

Slogg76
05-20-2008, 08:33 AM
First let me say this is an excellent site! I've been casting bullets for almost ten years and I thought I knew a little bit about it until I started reading up on this site. I keep reading about zinc contamination, bad wheel weights, etc. I have always just smelted all the wheel weights I could get and never even knew about awful zinc. I casted thousands of bullets, mostly for cowboy action shooting, and never had any problems. Most of the wheel weights I've encountered were dark gray. However, lately I've been coming across what appears to be painted wheel weights. They feel heavy like lead, but form an oat meal like mush when they start to melt. I thought maybe zinc, but then again the laser cast and cast performance bullets I melted down also formed oat meal mush as well. The only markings on these painted weights are: 1.75 LH 50g. They do not have a "Zn" marked on them nor does any wheel weight I have come across-yet. Any help with the identification would be appreciated.

R.M.
05-20-2008, 08:44 AM
Slogg, zinc can be a pain, and we're seeing more and more of them these days, but I don't think it's as big of a problem as some of us let on. Every time a newbie runs into a strange situation, somebody will say"you have Zinc".
As log as you smelt at a temp lower than zinc melts at, you should be fine. I even hear that an alloy with a bit of zinc can produce decent boolits.

DLCTEX
05-20-2008, 08:51 AM
Some WW are painted for use on aluminum wheels, it keeps the lead from reacting with the aluminum. I haven't found any painted ones that were zinc yet. DALE

GabbyM
05-20-2008, 08:53 AM
You may have skimmed a few zinc WW off with the clips and not even noticed them in their.
You'll get oatmeal in your melt before it comes up to full melt temp. That's the valuable antimony.