PDA

View Full Version : Get the smell out

abunaitoo
06-18-2016, 10:41 PM
Thought I'd pass this along.
I thought everyone did it, but a friend was so impressed.
He had no idea, and nether did anyone he knew.
Living in Hawaii, used to do lots of fishing when I was younger.
The fish smell lingered on the hands for a day or two.
When I worked as a mechanic, solvent and gas smell would also linger on my hands.
With all the special hand cleaners we tried, this is the best thing I have found to get the smell out.
Even tried Green Scotch-brite pads. Clean but still stink.
Most people know about those stainless steal, flat egg shaped things.
You use it, with soap, when washing hands, and it takes the smell out. Magic...
I find those egg things hard to use.
What I use are those stainless steal Chore Boy scouring pads. The curly, curly ball stuff.
I squirt some hand soap on my hands and scrub them with the pad.
Never got a cut from doing this.
Smell gone. Hands clean.
I works for me. Your results may vary.

LUBEDUDE
06-19-2016, 09:58 AM
Thanks!

MrWolf
06-19-2016, 10:11 AM
Thanks for the tip. When I saw the title I thought you had a way of getting rid of the Democrats: starting at the top :groner:

SciFiJim
06-19-2016, 09:48 PM
I am not sure of the science, but I think it has to do with ionizing the water as it flows over the steel. I use a stainless steel knife blade and drag it backward over each palm under running water. I have found it works great for taking onion smell from my hands.

500MAG
06-19-2016, 09:54 PM
I'm glad to hear this. I take my boys drift boat fishing pretty often and we gave a heck of a time removing the smell. I have tried lemon juice, Dawn, alcohol.. And it still stinks. Will give it a try.

Minerat
06-20-2016, 10:16 PM
We were taught to wash our hands with salt and soap to kill the fish smell. It works.

David2011
06-20-2016, 10:20 PM