PDA

View Full Version : part 2 of the what do you do for a living post. What was your favorite job?

Lloyd Smale
06-16-2016, 06:11 AM
Mine hands down was the years I spend in the service.

Wayne Smith
06-16-2016, 08:02 AM
Since I started doing therapy I haven't worked a day. It is all fun.

EMC45
06-16-2016, 09:55 AM
I liked working at the machine shop doing CNC- waterjet and plasma tables. Also liked the Military and what I do now.

Nueces
06-16-2016, 09:58 AM
I'm with Lloyd. My years as a squadron fighter pilot were the best. For a while after my last flight, the withdrawal made it all seem unreal, like a dream. After about 5 years, I recovered the memories and have enjoyed them ever since. I've spoken to other guys who have experienced something like that.

OS OK
06-16-2016, 10:41 AM
An old timer told me about the 'find a job you like and never work a day in your life' idea before I graduated high school. That summer I had so many jobs that in one of them I only worked about 4 hours and walked out of the factory in disgust. My parents thought I was unemployable.
When I hired as an electricians apprentice the search was over...that is all I have ever done, retired as an Electrical Contractor doing motor control and power distribution...looking back, I never worked a day in my career, just went somewhere everyday where I was fascinated with the job and had a darn good time doing it.

mold maker
06-16-2016, 11:28 AM
In 1967 I filed 17 W2 forms at tax time. In Jan of 1968, I took a job that lasted 39.5 years. Nobody tried to bump me from it and I really enjoyed doing it. I had a boss that understood his ignorance and was satisfied with the money I made/saved him. At one time my Dept included 23 very competent workers who made my job easy. In "07 all the work was taken by cheap labor (China) and the once very prosperous business closed. Under better economic circumstances I would probably still be working.

dragon813gt
06-16-2016, 12:17 PM