PDA

View Full Version : Seating Gas checked bullets past neck?

birddog1520
05-18-2008, 07:07 AM
I'm new at casting and shooting cast boolits and need some help with this part. I want to load some of my 180 gn. cast boolits from a C309-180-R Lee mold in a 30-30 but the gas checks go past the shoulder on the case I've read that you should not seat a gas checked bullet past the neck. What I need help with is if I load the bullets without the gas check on what do I need to do to keep it from leading up the barrel. I use Lee liq. alox lube on straight WW cast boolits.
I'm shooting it out of a T\C Contender with a 21" barrel.

Thanks In Advance. :drinks:

Randy The Birddog.

NuJudge
05-18-2008, 09:24 AM
Regarding gas check bullets being seated with the gas check below the bottom of the shoulder, I would worry about gas checks falling off if loose, and I have seen pictures illustrating a heavily erroded surface on the part of bullets that was below the case neck.

A loose check falling off and rattling around with the powder could become a barrel obstruction.

The picture I saw of a bullet with heavy errosion was in an NRA publication. I did not see there any comment on that Lead being deposited in the barrel.

I have always achieved the best accuracy with cast bullets in non-semiautos when I lightly engraved the bullet in the rifling, and the bullet fit the throat. Having barrels that are almost all military in origin, this means that bullets are always seated far enough out that I never have gas checks seaed below the neck. With .30-30 barrels, you may find the same true.

I hope this helps.

CDD

44man
05-18-2008, 09:26 AM
I shot some GC boolits out of my 30-30 contender years ago without the checks. :-? With checks I shot nickels at 100 yd's but without them every boolit went through the target sideways at 50 yd's.
I see no problem seating past the neck if the checks fit tight and are crimped good. I would be afraid of loose checks.