PDA

View Full Version : How do you know if you got good wheel weights for casting?

KirkD
05-16-2008, 09:32 PM
I'm awaiting a few more items which are being shipped as we speak, and then I can start casting. I've been collecting used wheel weights from the local garage. I've been told to watch out for weird alloys in wheel weights.

Question: I'm looking at a bucket of used, dirty wheel weights. How do I know if they are good for casting or not? Does something happen when they melt that will tell me?

As you can see, I'm a rank novice at casting.

KirkD

runfiverun
05-16-2008, 10:26 PM
zinc they are usually marked Zn
if you keep your pot under 700 you will be fine as zinc melts near 780
i like to turn my pot down after i get it melted if you have zinc it will
look like oatmeal on top of your pot..

think before you melt where will the hot stuff go where to put the clips
that kind of stuff................and no wet stuff near the lead, including sweat.

VTDW
05-17-2008, 08:39 AM
I use a hot plate for my smelting. I find it easy once the lead is melting to take out those that do not melt. They are most likely Zinc and or steel.

I am find a few more in each bucket each time I get a batch so I stay on top of the melting.

KirkD
05-17-2008, 03:09 PM
Thanks, fellows, for the info. Now I know what to look for.

Jon K
05-17-2008, 03:15 PM
zn...........more commonly known as floaters......

You are on your way to stacking up good clean useable metal.

Have Fun Shooting,
Jon

HeavyMetal
05-17-2008, 07:38 PM
Anything that doesn't melt at 700 will float and if it floats it's scrap steel or zinc. Don't think you'll find much zinc but you never know.

Keep the steel clips seperate and clean! When you get enough of them they are worth money. Use that to buy more wheel weights!

KirkD
05-17-2008, 08:10 PM
Keep the steel clips seperate and clean! When you get enough of them they are worth money. Use that to buy more wheel weights!