PDA

View Full Version : Special project needed: bullet feed tube filler

Whiterabbit
06-01-2016, 01:03 PM
Hi guys,

I got a loadmaster recently and I am impressed so far.

The bullet feeder when aligned is also very impressive. The gears are already turning for how to modify it to feed heavy-for-caliber 45 cals. I predict good success there.

Here's the issue: The benefit to progressive reloading is to not have to touch every component. The LEE case collator is serviceable here. Dump cases and go. The primer tray is serviceable here. Dump primers and go. The bullet feeder is NOT serviceable here. I have to touch every single bullet to hand feed into one of four tubes.

What I would like to see is some sort of non-motorized collator or flipper that I can use so I can handle bullets by the batch and fill tubes. I have to believe someone has spent time thinking about this already. Again, I don't mind manually operated, I'd just like to see something designed to be batch operated (much like the case collator which is manually operated but the result is not having to touch every piece of brass).

Obviously the case collator cannot be duplicated for bullets, but has anyone come up with a good idea?

Whiterabbit
06-01-2016, 01:04 PM
Goal here by the way is batch process without spending $400 for the motorized solution or spending 140 hours building my own motorized bucket.

jmorris
06-01-2016, 01:16 PM
Post 10&11 here http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?232791-Mr-Bullet-feeder-for-star

Are photos of how I made mine. They do have a motor but don't cost much to build.

Might also take a look at this.

http://entirelycrimson.com/diy/collatorinstructions.pdf

They used to make kits for $150 but they violated Ricks patent on the design so they quit but it Mir give you some ideas on building your own.

Whiterabbit
06-01-2016, 01:55 PM
Here's the closest thing I googled so far for a manual tube filler:

http://www.hunt101.com/data/500/medium/SortingBlock2.jpg