PDA

View Full Version : .303 oal (first attempt at cb)

daveefish
05-12-2008, 10:28 PM
i'm a rank beginner at cb, having never loaded ANY before now. have loaded a gazillion copper clad. i'm working up a load for a 2 groove No.4 savage that i've mounted an ati mount and an el cheapo 3x9 walmart scope on. my 56 year old eyes get fuzzy. got a big heavy box of 200 gr. 314299 from Dan Congiolosi today. here is an unknown for me... how do i determine an oal for a cb? thanks dave

Bigjohn
05-12-2008, 11:28 PM
Dave; I have shot the 314299 through a No. 1 Mk III some years back. I seated the projectiles into the cases so the front edge of the driving bands was level with the case mouth.

These feed through my rifle without a problem.

John.

Newfoundlander2
05-13-2008, 10:46 AM
[SIZE="3"]If you're concerned with accuracy as well as functionality you might want to peruse this article on seating depth http://www.surplusrifle.com/shooting/oal/index.asp

You should also slug your Savage's barrel as chances are it's gonna be on the generous side i.e over 314. Only one of the Savage's I've ever owned came in at 314 the rest were in the 317-318 range. Most wore two groove barrels but there were a few fivers in the mix. http://www.surplusrifle.com/reloading/slug/index.asp

If you slug your barrel with the above method make sure the ends of the dowels have NO SHARP EDGES!!!! Sand the edges of each section slightly otherwise you run the risk of piercing the slug and having it jam in the bore. A friend of mine had this happen and ended up with a destroyed crown and deeply scratched bore after hours of trying to remove the obstuction. Personally I prefer Cerrosafe but if you're careful the above method is just fine.[ /SIZE]

richbug
05-13-2008, 02:17 PM
The short answer would be to load them as long as will fit in the magazine and see what happens.

daveefish
05-13-2008, 03:17 PM
thanks for the replies! what part of the boolit is the "driving band"? dave

Newfoundlander2